Tetfund: Army University, others make 2018 list

Image result for Dr Abdullahi Baffa

The Nigerian Army University Biu , the Airforce Institute of Technology ,Kaduna State and fourteen other Public Higher Institutions have been enlisted on Tertiary Education Trust Fund TETFUND , Special Intervention scheme.

The Executive Secretary of the Fund  , Dr Abdullahi Baffa, made this known in Abuja while briefing Journalists on review and performance of the Tetfund in the Year 2018.

According to Dr Baffa, “In 2018,the fund re-engineered the implementation of the fund’s mandate relating to improvement of quality and maintenance of standards in critical areas of need by cancelling arbitrary special Interventions and instituting zonal Intervention,allocated equally across the geo-political zones ,as originally conceived by the Tetfund establishment act 

Dr Baffa said that the Board of Trustees of the fund approved the enlistment  of sixteen new beneficiary institutions in 2018 after meeting all the requirements of enlistment.

On Infracstructure projects, Dr Baffa said during the year under review , the fund granted approval in principle for the commencement of 226 new projects in universities , Polytechnics and colleges of education.

“We have disbursed 329 first tranches,112 second tranches and 189 final tranches of projects across our beneficiary Institutions. This means that a total of 189 physical Infracstructure projects have been completed in 2018 in our public higher Institutions while 112 are at various levels of completion” Dr Baffa said.

We also inspected and monitored 361project sites across the country 301 projects were found satisfactory and disbursements for their subsequent tranches were effected.Onky 60 projects were queried as a result if some infractions and the Institutions have been asked to clear the infractions before such projects are cleared to subsequent disbursement”he added .

The newly enlisted institutions are :Nigerian Army University,Biu ,Ondo State University of Science  and Technology,Okitipupa,First Technical University,Ibadan, Airforce Institute of Technology Kaduna,Binyaminu Usman Polytechnics ,Hadejia,College of Education,Billiri, Gombe State, College of Education ,Kangere,Bauchi State, College of Education,Lanlate,Oyo State, Federal Polytechnic,Sapaade Ogun state, Ogun State Institute of Technology,Igbesa, Federal Polytechnic Ile-oluji ,Ondo State,Oke-Ogun Polytechnic, Saki,Oyo-State, University of Medical Science ,Ondo  State,Enugu State Polytechnic,Iwollo ,Enugu State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *